Lagos@50: Pictures from the gala night

By Muyiwa Olayinka

The host and Governor of Lagos state, Akinwunmi Ambode

Lagos State has been celebrating its 50 years of its existence and there have been series of activities lined up that culminated on the 27th of May 2017.

Gov Ambode with speaker LHSA, Hon Obasa

Lagos state was created by General Yakubu Gowon on May 27, 1967. Unfortunately, three days after, the Eastern region led by then Colonel Odimegwu Ojukwu (rtd) declared Biafra. The Eastern region declared seccession from Nigeria but the 20 months old civil war put a stop to this misadventure.

L-R: Former Govvernors Mobolaji Johnson, Lateef Jakande and his wife

Nigeria had put this sordid past behind, so it seems, to celebrate 50 years of Lagos’ excellence.

L-R: former Deputy Governors Bucknor, Femi Pedro, Current Deputy Governor and others cutting the anniversary cake

Lagos has always been a melting and rallying point for almost all Nigerians because it is the commercial nerve center of Nigerian economy.

The Acting President  Professor Yemi Osibajo was a former attorney general and former commissioner of justice in Lagos state. He flew from Italy where he attended the G7 summit to be part of the gala night.

Acting President Osibajo and Govs Okorocha of Imo and Gov Ajimobi of Oyo

The gala night joined political foes together in a frenzy season of camaradiere. We saw Governor Fayose of Ekiti, a stormy petrel sharing laughters and banters with Asiwaju Tinubu, former governor of Lagos state. So also a chieftain of PDP, Chief Olabode George sharing the limelight with Tinubu.

Tinubu with Fayose pic above & with Olabode George below

Aside the state first civilian Governor, Alhaji Lateef Jakande, and Tinubu, the gala night was attended by former military Governors of the state namely Brig.-Gen. Mobolaji Johnson; Brig.-Gen. Olagunsoye Oyinlola, Brig.-Gen. Buba Marwa and Rear-Admiral Ndubuisi Kanu.

Dignitaries cutting the anniversary cake

The serving state governors in attendance included Abiola Ajimobi of Oyo State, Ibikunle Amosun of Ogun State, Mr. Ayodele Fayose of Ekiti State, Mr. Godwin Obaseki Edo State, Chief Rochas Okorocha of Imo State and Alhaji Ibrahim Dankwambo of Gombe State graced the grand finale of the anniversary.

L-R: Govs Obaseki (Edo) Gov Dankwabo (Gombe) host Gov Ambode Acting Pres Oba Akiolu & Gov Okorocha

Apart from the serving governors, former Deputy National Chairman of Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), Chief Olabode George; the PDP governorship candidate in 2015, Mr. Jimi Agbaje; President of Dangote Group, Alhaji Aliko Dangote, and CEO of Forte Oil, Mr. Femi Otedola, also attended the event.

L-R: Oba Akiolu, Gov Ambode, Acting Pres Osibajo & Asiwaju Tinubu
Trios of Tinubu Osibajo & Ambode pointing at an area of interest

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s